The number of elite runners coming to Chicago for the 40th annual Bank of America Chicago Marathon just grew. 

Organizers announced Wednesday a number of new names being added to the elite field with less than three weeks until the big race. 

Among the names are Olympians and New York City Marathon champions, including Stanley Biwott, the seventh fastest man in history over the marathon distance and 2015 New York City Marathon victor, and Feyisa Lilesa, who won the Silver Medal in the 2016 Rio Olympics. 

Lilesa has previously won in Chicago, finishing third in 2010 and second in 2012. 

Bernard Kipyego will also return to Chicago after finishing third in 2011 and sixth in 2012. 

Also among the men’s elite are Ezekiel Chebii, Yuki Takamiya and Jordan Chipangama

Adding to the women’s field are Brigid Kosgei and Maegan Krifchin

The group joins several international running stars, including defending Chicago Marathon champions, fellow Olympians and world record holders, in this year’s elite field.

The 2017 Chicago Marathon steps off Oct. 8. This year’s event is expected to be one of the largest finisher fields in Chicago Marathon history.

Published 22 minutes ago | Updated 23 minutes ago


Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home2/wadyk60ackgy/public_html/wp-content/themes/Newspaper/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 353