photo lhan.jpg

In today’s music round up, we have Lauryn Hill’s cover of Nina Simone’s “Feeling Good,” Chris Brown & Tyga’s “B*tches & Marijuana” video and Madonna’s star-studded video “B*tch I’m Madonna,” with cameos from Beyonce, Kanye West, Nicki Minaj and Chris Rock. Get it all inside inside…..

Paying homage to blues songstress Nina Simone, Lauryn Hill recorded a cover of the iconic singer’s 1965 classic “Feeling Good” as a part of Netflix’s documentary What Happened, Miss Simone? It’s the first track released from the compilation Nina Revisited: A Tribute to Nina Simone, which is expected to drop on July 10th.

Rolling Stone released the sultry rendition, which has us excited to check out the upcoming documentary and hear the other covers recorded by Usher, Mary J. Blige, Common, Jazmine Sullivan and Nina’s daughter Lisa Simone. The “Ex-Factor” singer was originally set to record two tracks for the compilation CD, but decided to record six tracks in honor of the legendary blues and jazz musician. Not only that, she also serves as a producer on the comp alongside Robert Glasper.

Lauryn, who paid tribute to Simone in concert at Harlem’s historic Apollo Theater earlier this month, expressed her fascination with the iconic singer saying,

“Because I fed on this music, both hers and lovers like her, like my basic food, I believed I always had a right to have a voice. Her example is clearly a form of sustenance to a generation needing to find theirs. What a gift.”

Take a listen below:

What Happened, Miss Simone? premieres on Netflix on June 26th.

Below is the Nina Revisited: A Tribute to Nina Simone track list:

1. Lisa Simone – “Nobody’s Fault but Mine (Intro)”
2. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “Feeling Good”
3. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “I’ve Got Life” – Ms. Lauryn Hill
4. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “Ne Me Quitte Pas” – Ms. Lauryn Hill
5. Jazmine Sullivan “Baltimore”
6. Grace – “Love Me or Leave Me”
7. Usher – “My Baby Just Cares For Me”
8. Mary J. Blige – “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood”
9. Gregory Porter – “Sinnerman”
10. Common & Lalah Hathaway – “YG&B”
11. Alice Smith – “I Put A Spell On You”
12. Lisa Simone – “I Want A Little Sugar In My Bowl”
13. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “Black Is The Color Of My True Love’s Hair”
14. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “Wild Is The Wind”
15. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “African Mailman”
16. Nina Simone – “I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free”

In a new video….

As if we need another video about chicks and marijuana, Chris Brown and Tyga join forces with SchoolBoy Q for the video treatment of their track “B*tches & Marijuana.”

The track is cut from Breezy and T-Raww’s joint album Fan of a Fan and the visuals are filled with booty-shaking strippers (doing tricks on the pole) and rooms filled with “Mary Jane” plants. Sighs… Check it above.

Breezy just wrapped up his “X Tour Live” mini-tour with special guests August Alsina, Omarion and Seven Streeter. He’s headed back on the road for his “One Hell of a Nite” tour kicking off in August with Teyana Taylor, Omarion, Fetty Wap and Kid Ink.

In another new video….

A few YBF celebs make cameos in Madonna’s newly released video titled, “B*tch I’m Madonna.” It was first released exclusively on TIDAL and now it has been released for the masses.

The pop party visuals include appearances from Beyonce, Kanye West and Chris Rock. Nicki Minaj then hops on the track to spit a few bars on the Queen of Pop’s newest video treatment. This is Nicki’s 2nd collaboration with Madonna after being featured on Madonna’s “Give Me All Your Luvin’.” Peep the video above.

Photo: Pascal Bernier Photography

…read more

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home2/wadyk60ackgy/public_html/wp-content/themes/Newspaper/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 353