Saturday afternoon’s game between Hope College and John Carroll University was expected to be an uptempo affair and the contest sure lived up to that billing. The two teams raced to the highest combined scoring in a game in DeVos Fieldhouse since the 2011-12 season when Hope fell to Illinois Wesleyan in the NCAA Tournament, 108-101, in double overtime.

This time though when they hit triple-digits, the Flying Dutchmen won, topping the Blue Streaks, 104-94, to take the Russ DeVette/Holland Sentinel Classic title for the fourth year in-a-row.

Shelby’s Jason Beckman led Hope with 26 points and he was joined double-digit scoring by Holland’s Dante Hawkins who dropped in 24 points and Teddy Ray who had 14 points. Junior Dennis Towns of Flint, Michigan was the leader on the boards for Hope once again with 12 rebounds.

Hawkins was named the tournament’s MVP and Beckman joined him on the all-tourney team.

The win improves the Flying Dutchmen’s record to 6-5 while the loss puts the Blue Streaks at 9-2. Hope has not lost to John Carroll in the six times they’ve met.

Read More | Hope Athletics Website


Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home2/wadyk60ackgy/public_html/wp-content/themes/Newspaper/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 353